baronessekat: (pic#)
[personal profile] baronessekat
So I started one of these live journal web-log things. I never expected myself to do it. I mean, who wants a bunch of strangers knowing what you think and feel right? Well, a bunch of strangers are only going to know what I want then to.

My sister has a web log, my best friend just started a web log. And since I no longer have IM access at work I figured, this way I can let my other friends know I still care even if I can't talk to them all the time like I used to.

So, thus ends my justification to write a web journal.

As for me, right now I'm sick. That wonderful upper chest cold with the hacking cough that makes you sound like a asthmatic baby harp seal and makes people give you a 30 foot space so they don't catch whatever it is you have. I hate being sick. Mostly because I'm the type of person who really prefers to be doing something. Even if that something is sitting at my computer writing. But when I'm sick I can't focus, and even lying down hurts because, well I am asthmatic and a chest cold just is sheer delight for folks like me.

I stayed home from work yesterday because of this bug. I know it was the best thing for me, but since I only started the job less than a month ago, I don't exactly have any sick time. And having been a supervisor in a past employment, I know it looks bad for a new employee to call in. But well, when you can't breathe, you can't breathe. And that does put a damper on the whole productive work day.

But I went into work today. I sat in my cubicle, doped up on cough syrup, went through almost an entire box of kleenex, drank lots of tea and did my job. People at work seemed to be amazed that not only did I come in today, I actually sat at my desk and did all my work.

Now I know my generation is viewed by most as being a generation of slackers who only want things given to them on a silver plate and not wanting to work for anything. Guess what? I might be part of Generation X, but that doesn't mean I subscribe to that philosophy. I take pride in my work. I hate leaving stuff sitting on my desk for the next day. Mainly because you never know if the next day is actually going to happen and/or what will happen when it comes. For all I know tomorrow (or in this case, Monday) might find 30 files suddenly land on my desk for me to deal with. And having even one file sitting there from the day before is just going to add to that burden. So why not get it taken care of while you can?

I know... silly me. I have a "Presbyterian work ethic" as my best friend calls it. I also spent close to 5 years in my last job having to constantly justify my position. I don't want to give them any reason to not keep me around. I actually like this job. My co-workers are actually tolerable. And even better... I get to work in an office AND wear jeans on friday.

Believe me, there are certainly worse jobs. I know.. I've held a few of them.

Anyway. I'm off to take more meds and see what I can do to get better.

Profile

baronessekat: (Default)
baronessekat

December 2025

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930 31   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 04:57 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios