day 60

Oct. 27th, 2023 11:19 am
baronessekat: (Default)
Day 60 at the new job and still amazed how I feel towards it.

My boss today admitted that she was raving to some former colleagues about me. I cannot describe the warm fuzzies.

Even today, talking with BossLady I mentioned that the Job from Hell didn't offer 401K at all, let alone matching. She shook her head and said some stuff about it's amazing I lasted as long as I did. I told her it was because the universe was waiting for this job to be available. She chuckled and said "most likely".

Also today, I learned that because I sometimes wear sunglasses at my desk to mitigate headaches... management took it upon themselves to contact building maintenance to see if they could dim the lights over my desk some.

It's kinda sad that I am waiting for the shoe to drop. I fight the weaselbrain every day who says "just wait, the drop is coming. The honeymoon is almost over and then you'll see."

I know, intellectually this is trauma response. The side effects of being in an abusive relationship - and that is what the job from hell was - an abusive relationship. And it's going to take me a long time to recover.

I just have to keep myself from letting the weasels win and causing me to self-sabotage.

30 days

Sep. 25th, 2023 08:57 pm
baronessekat: (Default)
well 35 now but still. I've been with my new organization for that long and I still am floored by how well it's going.

Today I came into work from to an email from my boss praising an email I wrote and how wonderful it was that I am "keeping the trains running smoothly and doing so while representing [her] and the organization so well." and that she was so happy that I have joined the team.

I actually started crying at my desk. Luckily I was the only one in my part of the office at the time and was able to pull myself together before anyone saw me being a snotty mess. After Bosslady came in and we sat down for our beginning of the day/week review of what's on deck, I told her that she made me cry in a good way and how I honestly could not remember the last time I experienced positive validation from a supervisor. She actually teared up a little and said that she was sorry that I had experienced that and no one should have to work like that.

So yes, I am happy where I am. I am learning a lot, have wonderful coworkers who include me in conversations and have invited me to join them for lunch from time to time. I get thanked for the "emergency chocolate" basket on my desk, and in general have been made to feel like I am part of the team.

Additionally, I commented to friends this weekend that it's been over a month since I had a tension induced migraine. It's been over a month since I had a tremor storm (that's what I call them as they are not seizures), it's been over a month since I spent the majority of my day watching the clock and counting the minutes to lunch and home. I no longer fear hearing my name being called out.

It's only been a month, bu to quote Little Orphan Annie "I think I'm gonna like it here."

#Reclaim

Aug. 24th, 2023 09:20 pm
baronessekat: (quiet)
My word for 2023 has been "Reclaim". I had dreams to reclaim my health, my finances, my mental and physical health.

I have known for 2 years that the first thing to do all of that was to get the hell out of my job. The Job From Hell (as I've been referring to it) is a toxic environment ruled by a racist, misogynistic narcissist that would take any frustration he had out on me through screaming swearing and degrading comments. I described my work like to three of my doctors and all three said "you are describing classic abuse, you need a new job." To which I would say "I know and I will say the same thing women all over the world say everyday - I cannot leave until I have a place to go."

Anyway, that place to go finally happened. Just before leaving for my annual vacation I was offered a new job with a not-for-profit that focuses on helping members of the community who are economically, socially and politically depressed. It comes with more money, more PTO, more holidays, a 401K with their input and after a year I'd be eligible for the not-for-profit version of profit sharing.

I waited though to give notice until I got back from my vacation as I knew the a**hole would fire me and deny my vacation.

So on Monday, August 14th I came into work and gave notice that my last day was Friday the 18th. They offered me a LOT more money - which I turned down. No amount of money was worth further harming my physical and mental health from all the stress.

Anyway, I've now been at the new place 4 whole days and it's been Freaking awesome!!! Complete 180 in culture from Job From Hell.

I came in Monday to a card welcoming me to the company signed by everyone that works there (all 40 people) and a gift card to a local cafe for lunch some time.

My new boss spent the morning discussing with me her work philosophy and how I can best help support her and the team. We established clear goals for my first couple weeks too.

I asked if she wants to be cc’d on emails I send and she was “nope, i trust you. If I felt like I needed to hold your hand, I would not have hired you.”

I've also been partnered with an "onboarding buddy" - someone who has been with the organization for a couple of years who is not management to give me someone to go to with the "stupid questions" and help me navigate the culture and the other little things of the office.

No one is breathing down my neck accounting for every second of my existence and for the last three days, I have left work content and without need to unclench my jaw and relax my shoulders before I try to drive home.

So yeah… I’m doing good so far.
baronessekat: (Default)
Last week I had a bizarre dream... my old job (the one I lost due to Covid) called me and asked me to come back.

This week, the job popped up on an email from Indeed. I took it as a sign and applied. I figured it can't hurt and it might give me something as leverage to get more money or vacation time from the job from hell.

Then out of nowhere I have been contacted by 3 different companies who have seen my profile on Linkedin. Today I had a screening phone interview with a very interesting NFP and before we ended, she has already scheduled a zoom second interview next week. I also have a phone screening interview with another and the third is asking my availability.

I am taking this as a sign from the universe that it's time. But since three of the four possibilities contacted me, I am more or less keeping my promise to not actively look until at least the end of the year.

It's nerve wracking but when the universe tells you something, I tend to listen.
baronessekat: (cuss)
Well, my professional world is changing again. My employment with the Not-for-Profit has ended. I will not go into details but just say it was not working out on both sides.

But while I am sad, I called my most recent "old boss" since I had still been part-time there. We talked and as much as I hate that I am doing it, I am going back there full time starting Monday. We discussed things that can happen to make me more content there (I don't know that I can use the word happy). So no more working from home but it's back to something I don't have to flounder for 3+ weeks trying to figure things out.
baronessekat: (Default)
Last week, my first week at new company, my BossLady was on vacation. So today was my first real day with her.

I'm liking what I have encountered.

She asked me if I had preferred pronouns.

I told her that I fully embrace my role as "weird one of the office" and she replied "You are not weird. No one is weird. We are all who we are exactly as we should be. We all came out of different molds"

And she told me that she love the new hair color. "The blonde was good but that raspberry/burgundy is really fun"

She liked that I was not afraid to jump right into meetings with observations - pulling from whatever meeting we just got out of. And she loved when I looked at her after 3 straight hours of zoom meetings and asked "do you need to pee? I can stay in and let people into the next meeting so you can go pee, stretch and stuff."

If the future is like today, I think we may make a really good team.

More on me

Apr. 7th, 2021 06:51 pm
baronessekat: (me)
First three days of working from home for new company. Going well. It's nice to work for a company that I do not have to account for every single minute and is trusting me to start my training at my own speed. I'm going through training videos and getting paid to read a "For Dummies" book. I also started to review a spreadsheet for ways that I think might make it more efficient for use.

Also day three of being per deim with job from hell. I call at 5:30, Boss man dictates what he wants a letter to say. I pretty up the language and email it to him to send out. Today in our conversation he said "Seriously, if you want to come back I will pay you anything." I politely chuckled and redirected him to the letter he wanted to send today.

But let me tell you, I am infinitely happier and more relaxed than I have been in MONTHS.

Still glad I made the decision I did.
baronessekat: (me)
Anyone who has followed my posts here for the last 4 months may have come to the conclusion that I hate my job.

That is an understatement. I LOATHE it. My boss is the founder/owner/President of the company. He is also a 75 year-old racist, bigoted, misogynistic asshollic bully who has no concept that people have a life outside of him. He is a multimillionare who is building two homes. One here in NY and one in Florida that are ultra modern monstrosities that look like IKEA threw up and made a house. He has no problem dropping $400 on a pair of jeans for himself but won't shell out to cover gas for someone who runs an errand for him during work hours.

Also his concept of time... heaven forbid you are 1 minute late to come to him when he calls you but when you do arrive because he asked you to come to his office you get to sit and wait 20 minutes while he checks email, returns a phone call OR... shops online for a new car or more property to buy.

I'm supposed to be his executive assistant. What I do most of the day is watch him read emails, make phone calls, shop online and on rare occassions type up a letter he's dictated. I also get him coffee. Which consists of him asking for coffee - I get up from my desk, walk into his office, take the empty cup off his desk, step to the other end of the desk where the Kureig is, put the coffee pod in the machine and push the button.


And he hates color. everything on him, the office and his home are black and white, with a splash of grey. So yeah - NOT ME. My rebellion is to wear bright colors - even if it means him constantly making comments on my garments.

To call my days soul crushing is a bit of an understatement. I determined this was going to be the case about 3 days after I started. That's when I started looking for something else. But I wasn't about to quit without something else in place.

This week that something else has come through. Monday, April 5th I start as the Administrative Specialist for a woman-owned, not-for-profit company that focuses on HIGH exposure branding. As the CEO said, basically it's going to be my office. I will handle everything from emails, to bank runs, to website updates, to membership database control to event planning and managing. It comes with a raise, potential bonus pay, and when we host events in person again - travel. They are already planning Las Vegas and Atlanta in 2022. And it's work from home until the world (or at least the state/county) is back to 100%.

I have not posted to Facebook yet because I have not yet given my official notice where I am currently employed. My plan is to do that this Friday about half an hour before the end of my day. I am prepared to either be worked to the bone for the next three weeks or to be summarily dismissed. Personally I expect the first option because, like I said, boss hates to spend money on someone else and you bet your ass I'd file for unemployment for these three weeks.

I already feel lighter and happier. I was talking with my sister on my lunch today and said "it's almost like I"m escaping an abusive relationship" and she replied "you are."

But regardless, I am really looking forward to this new opportunity. The emails I have been exchanging with my soon to be Bosslady and the CFO (also a woman) have been vibrant, exciting and they are genuinely happy to have me coming aboard (well if all the exclamation marks in the emails are any indication).

So there you have it. The state of me.
baronessekat: (Default)
I GOT A JOB!!!!!!

Offer came Thursday. I accepted on Friday. Executive Admin Assistant to the President/Owner of a small manufacturing business about 10-15 minutes from my house (not counting the required stop at Tim Hortons for coffee). Basically he description he gave me for what I'll be doing is "Pepper Potts" - just not with that analogy but that's how my brain translated it.

It's salaried and about $300 less a year than what I was making at the old place (not counting the stupid overtime they gave me). But that would be more than I'd be making had I stayed there (as they implemented a 10% pay reduction for all who they kept after the furloughs). And honestly, depending on what health insurance option I pick, I may actually break even.

I start Monday, the 23rd. The instantly get two days off for the Thanksgiving holiday on Thursday and Friday.

I'm nervous as it's a "in the office" job but it's a job. I went yesterday to consignment stores to pick up office appropriate clothing since for 8 years I worked at a place that had "jeans and a decent shirt" as dress code and need actual business casual stuff. I have a couple dresses to make as well. I see myself at the sewing machine a lot for the next week so I have things to wear before I start work.

But yay! Big weight off my shoulders now.
baronessekat: (quiet)
I have started writing in an actual journal - paper, pen the whole shebang. I guess part of me is still that history nerd that loved reading about what ordinary people thought about world history events. So I figured I should write it both in electric and physical form. How often I transcribe from the book to here but we shall see.

I wrote this on Saturday the 21st before bed.

Saturday March 21, 2020

Saturday. Normally I would be at an event watching friends get recognized for service and dedication to the SCA. Instead, the event is cancelled as we go further into social lock-down.

I took Grimm for a small walk today and cannot help but notice the change - driveways are full of cars, but, despite the fairly mild weather, no one is outside. Other than some song birds - there is silence. Usually I can hear the low hum of traffic fro the 990 expressway less than a mile a way. Now- nothing.

New orders have come down from the state - 10% non-essential personnel must NOT come into work. I am technically essential because of the payroll I process but I have worked out a plan with my boss that I only come into the office for no more than 30-45 minutes a day to pick up necessary items and paperwork and then go hoe to work. Today I received the "hall pass" as I have been calling it - a letter from the CEO explaining the nature of our business and saying I am an essential employee. It's to keep on hand should i get stopped on y way to or from the office. The scary thing is that the letter is "good until December 31, 2020." I really hope that I do not need it for that long. But the Governor has indicated that this could go for upwards of 18 months.

The State has also ordered all hair, barber, tattoo and nail shops closed until further notice. this means within the next two weeks I will be losing my nails and hair until I feel the need to do so - for my mental health and the benefit of my soul.

I will be careful to monitor my mental health and just do what I can. There was a thing going around FaceBook that said instead of saying we are in quarantine or isolation because of the virus, we should say "in exile for the Good of the Realm". Or that we 'have taking an oath of solitude until the crisis is over". So I will do what I must... For the Good of the Realm."

The New Normal
baronessekat: (xmas eeyore)
Every year I see that one or two things that just dance on a shelf or the computer screen and scream "BUY ME FOR SO-AND-SO FOR CHRISTMAS". So I do.

This year the gift was for one of my directors. His special needs daughter died in her sleep when she was 12 a couple years ago, and even now he talks about her all the time.

This past spring he said that he always associated dragonflies with her because when they would go camping, it seemed like dragonflies would flock to her. And then when I hung the Holiday decorations in our office area he specifically asked for the purple stocking for his door as that was Jessie's favorite color.

Anyway, while browsing amazon a couple weeks ago, I saw a travel mug (and he uses one all the time) with a purple dragonfly on it. Despite it being a bit more than I had originally budgeted for him, I couldn't resist and bought it for him for his gift.

I gave it to him this morning. When he opened it, he gasped, started tearing up and hugged me - hard. He said he couldn't believe I remembered such offhanded comments.

I just smiled and wished him a Merry Christmas.

Sometimes the little added cost makes it all worth while.
baronessekat: (WFT)
Me answering the phone: "This is Tina, how may I help you"

Lady on the Other End (LOTOE): "May I speak to Kristina?"

Me: that's me, how may I help you.

LOTOE: But you said your name is Tina.

Me: yes - it's short for Kris- TINA

LOTOE: oh I get it. This is X from Y. I'm trying to process the order you placed yesterday and need a bit more information.

Me: OK.

LOTOE: Your company's full name is "Kristina"?

*slight pause*

Me: No. I'm Kristina. My company is IIMAK.

LOTOE: OK. The person attending the conference is Kristina?

Me: No, as I put in the email, it's my co-worker Michael

LOTOE: his last name is Telesco?

Me: No, as I just said, his last name is [insert name]. Telesco is MY last name.

*sounds of typing*

LOTOE: OK, so I have Kristina Telesco registered for the conference.

*deep sigh*

Me: No.... no... no. I am Kristina Telesco. I need to register Michael [last name] for the conference.

LOTOE: But the email is from a Kristina Telesco and that's the name on the credit card being used to pay.

Me: correct. You received the registration information from me. I am using my company card to pay for it so MICHAEL can attend your conference.

5 more minutes of this. The woman was fixated on my name. And confirmed our mailing address no less than 5 times. I'm now waiting for the confirmation email to arrive and fully expect that my name will be listed as the attendee.

*sigh*

Jul. 10th, 2014 06:07 pm
baronessekat: (facepalm)
There is one part of my job that is just down right tedious. It's not hard. But boring and endless.

About a year ago, I was asked if I would temporarily take over some data entry from our Northpointe Warehouse. And when your #1 Boss asks you to do something, you say yes.

It consists of receiving papers every day that our Packers fill out. It has their name, the times they sign onto a line and sign off of a line and how many rolls of ribbon they packed. I then have to take this data and enter it into 3 different spreadsheets and compile a report. It's been a year and I'm still "temporarily" doing the data entry. Comparatively, I'm making a rather impressive amount of money for data entry work (especially since I usually end up having to do it as overtime in order to keep up with my regular duties).

Both Boss #1 and Boss #2 know it is a colossal pain in the ass and well below my pay grade. I was told initially that I would give up this task when person X at Northpointe got back from Disability leave. Then when it was discovered that I can do the entry faster and more accurately, they left the task with me (as apparently it was still cheaper to pay me the over time than her the straight time) and put her to other duties. I was then told they were in the process of automating the packing lines so that a computer could automatically compile this info without the data entry.

So for months I have heard "I need to get on Person Y in the IT department about this" from Boss #1. I shrug and go back to typing in numbers.

Today Boss #2 was by my desk and seeing me working on Northpointe Data. He took a sheet and went and found Person Y in IT and demanded a status update. Y said "IT's been done for 6 months. So unless they haven't told me that it's not working I don't know why she's still doing the manual entry. I'll talk to my boss to talk to the director of Northpointe about it."

After lunch I went and found the director to give the "there is no loop but I want to keep you in the loop" heads-up. He laughed. Actually laughed and said that no it's not working and he knows it. It doesn't give us the data we have asked for and need.

I thanked him and went back to my desk. So much for that small glimmer of hope that this tedious task would finally be taken from me. Or at least streamlined more.

I shouldn't complain because it is usually time and a half work. But honestly, I dread the "I have to work on Northpointe" part of my month.
baronessekat: (feargrin)
08:00 Boss #2 calls me into his office and asks me to sit down. Conversation starts with "We are going to have to do some downsizing." Apparently the panic on my face was rather clear, because he blinked and instantly said "this doesn't effect you."

But he told me to get boxes together because his department of influence was being downsized and could I have things ready for after the news is broken. And then uses the phrase "everyone reacts differently to this kind of news, so I give you permission that if you need to to call 911." He doesn't tell me who, so of course I start trying to figure out who in the department would behave to that news in such a way that I would have to call the police.

10:13 HR rep shows up and first person called into the office. My heart sinks for the one being let go.

10:40 that meeting is let out and another HR rep shows up and second person called in. Again, my heart drops for them.

11:15 that meeting lets out, I get boxes together and take to their office (both people laid off shared an office) and become available to help them pack.

11:30 HR manager arrives and meeting with third person happens. No lay-off just "we are offering you a position in X department". Which means if she doesn't take it, it will be a lay off.

12:20 Fire alarm goes off.

It's been really hard to focus for the rest of the day.

At 13:30 was a mandatory all-hands meeting for office personnel. In total 10 position were eliminated here and 24 positions in our Mexico branch.

While I am glad I survived the cull, I do feel sorry for those that didn't.
baronessekat: (xmas eeyore)
posting so I can find later.

VP R&D - Glenlivet 15
baronessekat: (giggle)
Last Friday I wasn't feeling so hot and decided that I would probably spend most of the day drinking tea at work. So I pulled out the "decaf" orange coffee pot that hasn't been used in the 2 months that I've been working here, cleaned the coffee maker resevoiur so that it didn't taste like coffee, put 8 regular lipton tea bags in it and brewed up a pot of tea.

The oohs and aaah that could be heard coming from the kitchen after it was done and folks going "who thought to do this, it's a great idea" were histerical. Apparently none of these super smart chemists and engineers had ever thought to use a coffee maker to make up a large quantity of tea. I've had no less than 10 different people now come by my desk to thank me for starting to have tea available readily made. (the tea bags, regular, green tea, and decaf, have always been available but apparently it was always too much hastle to open one up, put it in a cup and pour hot water over it.

Now the one thing I have learned is that these chemists and engineers are moochers when it comes to free food/drink. Put it in the kitchen as "up for grabs" and whatever you put there will be gone within 30 minutes. (I timed it when I brought in left over coffee cake after Summer's End). So over the weekend, I went through all my tea stashes and brought in all the flavors that I do not drink on a regular basis and will just go bad sitting in my cupboard, or the kinds I can't drink (like the Blackberry Sage).

So now every morning, as I am the first one here, I pull the "tea" coffee pot out of the dishwasher and make up a pot of regular lipton tea. And after lunch I or one of the others here will make up a pot of one of the flavored teas. I sit close enough to the kitchen that I can hear the conversations and it's been quite amusing listening to them all discussing the pros and cons of the different flavors. The Candy Cane mint has been a big hit with all. The Bigalow Apple Cinnamon has a 50/50 rating. We shall see what they think of the Bigalow Peach today.

I will have to talk to our coffee vendor and see what flavored teas they have and start ordering some or use some of my "discressionary fund" to keep the tea in stock if the coffee guys don't have flavors. But I have head the folks here discussing doing what I did and bringing in the ones that they don't drink enough at home to warrent keeping there.

I just find this whole thing quite amusing.

The saga

Jul. 13th, 2012 04:51 pm
baronessekat: (yay)
June 25th - send resume and submit online application in the weekly process to make NYS UI happy.

July 10th - get a call asking could I come in on the 12th for interview.

July 12th - interview, that evening get call asking could I come back following week for 2nd interview. Agree.

July 13th - get new call, could I come in before noon to meet with the person who currently holds the position but is being promoted to see if we think it's a fit. Agree. Go in to meet with said person. Then get told to hold on and then meets with Sr. Manager in same department. Meet with Sr. manager then get told "Oh the VP of Operations has ordered in lunch and would like to talk to you over it." Meet with VP. Get walked back to HR and asked to wait a moment. HR Director comes out asked to chat again. Get offered position to start immediately. Condition of going to Pennsic not a problem and they agree to start me as a temp employee for 3 weeks so I can go to war without paperwork/payroll issues. Fill out all the necessary paperwork and get ID badge.

July 16th I start work. 42.5 hour weeks (2.5 hours guaranteed overtime once I am a full employee upon return from war) at a higher rate of pay I had been making at the CPA firm.

Talk about a whirlwind. Pennsic prep plans changed somewhat now. But my hours at least for the time being will be 7-3:30 so I don't lose the whole day for prepping. And if the sewing doesn't get done, oh well. I will only be going for a week so what garb I have will work. I will aim to get at least 1 new sarafan done and finish the pants I started. Most of my focus now has to go into the scrolls that are due.

But holy cow.

Updates

Mar. 12th, 2009 12:59 pm
baronessekat: (bridges tv)
Been back to work now for 2 weeks.

We are making progress in getting back to a resemblance of normalcy. Though we've all had to redefine what normalcy is.

The construction is finally done in the front hall. Walls up, ceiling replaced, pretty color on the wall.

Today I was given a promotion. Basically my job has not changed except taking on a little more from the Interim GM. Stuff he used to do that he doesn't have time for. So it's more of a title change than anything, though we don't really have titles here. After all, when you are a company of 8 people titles just get in the way of getting things done in the day to day minutae of life. Though titles help when you are talking to folks on the telephone trying to placate them/beg for extensions/get them to shut up. I'm Operations Manager/Director of Operations. Does not come with any pay change... yet. Maybe in 6 months when we prove to the BoD that we are viable and functioning we can all get pay hikes.

The only concession I got was a change of hours. Instead of 8-5 with no real lunch break, my new hours are 8-4:30 with a kinda lunch break. Being salaried means lunch breaks are kinda fluid. That's fine with me. My hours were actually something that was one of the list of reasons I was going to start looking elsewhere when I had my one-year anniversary. But right now the only thing that I have any issue with is not the job's fault. I'd prefer to work closer to home. But the oppressive feel of the office, the hours, the unreasonable expectations and requests have all changed. I just wish a good woman did not have to die for it to have happened.
baronessekat: (at-at)
to work that is.

today was a 6 hour day.

Mostly we sat and did some great team building and discussion on how we want to proceed. We did an SWOT exercise (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats) and came up with a preliminary list of goals.

Now that we only have 8 people in the company one of the things we did today is work on office arrangement. There had been a division of back/production staff and front/admin staff prior to this. So to eliminate this, the three of the front office (of which I am one) have moved our desks to the back so that we all are a community. This may or may not change if we get a new CEO but we will face that then. Right now we need to build our team feeling and better interpersonal relations/communications.

One thing that I'm really glad about is that our interim GM is wanting to focus on employees. Happiness, comfort and the like. There is even talk of once things are up and running doing 1/2 day fridays every other friday (like payday friday). But this won't be a thing until we are more stable.

Next things we need to do is offer up a list of potential new slogans to the board and create a new logo. Logo I leave to the creative department. I have a few suggestions for the slogan.

Once those are in place then we can focus on refocusing our schedule/programming. We discussed this a little, just throwing around ideas.

I can honestly say that for the first time in a very long time, today felt like a positive and productive day at work.
baronessekat: (bridges tv)
Hi all,

my boss has asked me to come up with a general list of advertisers that are on "mainstream" television networks.

Since I only watch certain channels I was hoping folks could give me a hand and as you are watching TV over the next week, could you make a list of what companies you see ads for?

If you could send me the list to ktelesco AT bridgestv DOT com I'd really really appreciate it.

Profile

baronessekat: (Default)
baronessekat

December 2025

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930 31   

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:46 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios