It's got to get better right?
Oct. 15th, 2012 07:54 amTo satisfy my morbid sense of curiosity, I checked the audio version of "50 Shades of Gray" from the library. I wanted to see what the big deal is.
I'm only into chapter 3 and I'm wondering how in the world people thought this was good. It's first person present tense to start with. And every 5 minutes we get to hear about how beautiful Christian Gray is and how sensual his mouth is, how dexterous his fingers are and how enigmatic his eyes are.
It may also be the reader. She sounds constantly like she's whining or about to cry or both. She's supposed to be a senior in college and she sounds more like a 13 year old trying to cope with a boy asking her to a semi formal dance. She blushes at the drop of a hat, more when she interacts with Christian.
We haven't even got to the "smut" part of the book and I'm already completely bored. So far I totally agree with the sign:
At least I got the audio version so that I can do things while listening to it so that the time it not toally wasted. Cuz that would be time I could use for more interesting things like cleaning the cat box.
EDIT Oh dear lord. She just uttered the phrase "Desire, that's what this is. This is what desire feels like." She is flipping 13! and then she just said "For the first time in my life I want to go to bed with a man." WTF.
She drunk called him and he came to help her get to safety and now she sees him as Lancelot or Gawain or some Knight in a medieval tale.
The NRE is sickening.
It's hard not to MST this tale.
I'm only into chapter 3 and I'm wondering how in the world people thought this was good. It's first person present tense to start with. And every 5 minutes we get to hear about how beautiful Christian Gray is and how sensual his mouth is, how dexterous his fingers are and how enigmatic his eyes are.
It may also be the reader. She sounds constantly like she's whining or about to cry or both. She's supposed to be a senior in college and she sounds more like a 13 year old trying to cope with a boy asking her to a semi formal dance. She blushes at the drop of a hat, more when she interacts with Christian.
We haven't even got to the "smut" part of the book and I'm already completely bored. So far I totally agree with the sign:
At least I got the audio version so that I can do things while listening to it so that the time it not toally wasted. Cuz that would be time I could use for more interesting things like cleaning the cat box.
EDIT Oh dear lord. She just uttered the phrase "Desire, that's what this is. This is what desire feels like." She is flipping 13! and then she just said "For the first time in my life I want to go to bed with a man." WTF.
She drunk called him and he came to help her get to safety and now she sees him as Lancelot or Gawain or some Knight in a medieval tale.
The NRE is sickening.
It's hard not to MST this tale.
(no subject)
Date: 2012-10-15 01:08 pm (UTC)But there again, I have found some strange things in the cat box over the years.
(no subject)
Date: 2012-10-15 09:30 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2012-10-15 01:15 pm (UTC)(not that I will have much time for reading that is not class-related until the winter break, but I would hate to waste what precious little fun reading time I do have on crap!)
(no subject)
Date: 2012-10-15 07:16 pm (UTC)I have a whole pile of good smut in my Kindle! I don't feel I'm missing out, here. :D
And yep! There's plenty of good smut on the internet! Hell, I WRITE better smut, I suspect (And I can't write my way out of a tissue paper bag!)
The audio might have been more enjoyable with the Gilbert Gottfried edition, after all!
And incidentally, what's with the trend of First Person present tense? I've been finding a lot of books are writing like that, lately. Only one author I've stumbled into it with writes it well though. And he writes good gay-boy smut. ^.^
(no subject)
Date: 2012-10-15 07:32 pm (UTC)I'm straining facial muscles from the amount and force of eyerolling I'm doing.
I listened to Twilight as well to "see what the fuss was about" and hated Twilight but it's actually better than this dreck. AT least Bella was a teenager. Ana is graduating college.
I'm hating how all her "friends" are totally mortified that at 21 she hasn't slept with anyone. I applaud that. But the general naivety that she approaches EVERYTHING else makes me want to throttle a bitch.
I"m now into chapter 8 and have finally had the first piece of "smut" and I've had more exciting experiences with my bowl of cheerios.
I will finish the book but you can be certain that I will not be rushing out for the other two.
(no subject)
Date: 2012-10-15 08:10 pm (UTC)I ALMOST want to read it... JUST to MST the thing throughout! It sounds like the worst possible trainwreck, ever!
(no subject)
Date: 2012-10-15 09:29 pm (UTC)