baronessekat: (barbie)
[personal profile] baronessekat
So I had 3 points for dinner. Originally (as in at work while thinking of what to make while waiting for a 123 page stub search to print) I thought I'd do campbell's chicken noodle soup and maybe a salad. That would give me still one point for some snacky/desserty thingy.

But when I was at the grocery store and stopped in the bread isle to get the weight watcher lemon cakes (major yum for only 1 points per twinkie sized cake) a lady was there and saw what I was getting. She pointed out these light wraps that are only 1 points a wrap and praised them. I debated between getting the whole grain AND the italian seasoning but only got the whole grain.

Last weekend I had an amazing cheeseburger that had a portobello mushroom cap on it. So I thought I would get some and see what I could concoct at home.

So I decided for dinner to make a grilled portobello mushroom wrap. Wrap =1 point. Mushroom = 0 points. Lettuce = 0 points. 1 slice ff cheddar cheese = 1 point. 1Tbsp ff ranch dressing = 0 points.

IT was filling. But I don't like the way the mushroom tasted after the grilling. I think that it really needs to be paired with a really rich meat. Even something like ground beef.

I also got a lemon garlic turkey tenderloin. Can't wait to try it.

Oh well. I still have one point left. Gonna have a little cake and call it a night food wise.

(by the way... Waist watchers diet citrus frost soda tastes a lot like fresca. and O points)

(no subject)

Date: 2006-04-06 06:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] damedini.livejournal.com
How 'bout poaching the shroom in a bit of beef broth? I don't do shrooms, but maybe that would help?

(no subject)

Date: 2006-04-06 07:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cirith-ungol.livejournal.com
Either that or try some marinade on it. I'm sure that something like a lemon-pepper or Oriental sauce could at lots of flavor and little to no calories. Mushrooms are like sponges when it comes to liquids.

(no subject)

Date: 2006-04-06 08:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] trogddor.livejournal.com
Yah thats what I would recommend.... Marinade it in somethin nice and tasty... Something you would use for steaks maybe. Soy Sauce... Worchestershire, I dunno something like that. I wouldn't think those would be bad for a diet...

They also make great little herb rubs for steaks (I particularly like the emril one) Throw that together with a little soy sauce and a little olive oil (can you do olive oil?) and let it sit for a few hours and soak up in the fridge.

Then grill'em up.

(no subject)

Date: 2006-04-06 09:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dragondare.livejournal.com
Grilled portobello mushrooms are sent from heaven. Love love love love love.

We eat a lot of cereal right now.

April is over in 24 days.

(no subject)

Date: 2006-04-07 07:13 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meirwen.livejournal.com
"The Boss" considers a whole portabello mushroom cap, marinated then grilled, to be "absolutely as good as the best hamburger on the planet." You know how he is about his beef, so don't give up on them just yet--it could be a matter of technique?

I'm so proud of you, by the way. I know how much you dislike food that is good for you!

(no subject)

Date: 2006-04-07 03:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] baronessekat.livejournal.com
can you suggest any "ekat friendly" marinades?

Profile

baronessekat: (Default)
baronessekat

December 2025

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930 31   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 05:12 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios