baronessekat: (cuss)
Transitowne (of the failed car purchase) texted me this morning saying they cannot find proof of my cleared deposit check and until they have proof of it they cannot refund me. So I texted back pictures of my statement AND the canceled check.

I have now confirmed that I can pick up the check on my lunch today. Which is great as I can then take it the block and a half to my credit union and deposit it same day.

All of this running around can only be possible because of a very generous action on the part of Baron P and Baroness J, who have lent me one of their cars to get around until Thursday - because the battery on the current van has decided to not want to hold a strong enough charge to start the engine. So Thursday Baron P will come and use his monster truck to jump my current van so I can drive it to the dealership. If it won't start there I can do "I drove it here".

Thursday cannot get here soon enough.


Oh... and add to this the fact that all this stress and anxiety not only kicked my hormones into activating early... I'm having an honest to god period (something I haven't had in 5 years because of the ablation) on a day when I chose to wear white pants. Thankfully a female coworker rescued me.
baronessekat: (Default)
Went after work and test drove another car at a different dealer. After roughly 20 minutes of negotiations, I shook hands and signed a new purchasing agreement.

Same price as the other one after some negotiations. it's a 2015 instead of a 2016 BUT... it has 16K less miles on it and has SOOOOOO many features that the other one did not have. The only things that it didn't have bells and whistles wise that I might have liked was push button open doors and power seats. But I can live without those. This one has bluetooth connectivity, SIRUS radio (which is free for a year) heated door mirrors, and the temp/miles to empty display - all the other car from the *^(*^% other dealer did not have. I'm satisfied.

She (this one is definitely a she) has a silver exterior and black interior. I'm feeling the name Phasma (go figure). They have to do one small repair to clear it for inspection so right now tentative pick up is Thursday. But hey... they were up front about that and not "surprise! We can't give you the car yet" after the fact. Hopefully by then I won't be fighting the other dealer for my deposit back
baronessekat: (cuss)
I came into work this morning and started looking at other dealerships online. The one right around the corner from my house has a van, a year older but has 16K less miles and a LOT of bells and whistles that the one I have an agreement signed on doesn't have. And before negotiations is $600 less (before taxes and fees) than the other one.

So I've put in a request to test drive it. first question I will ask before anything "if I want it, can I drive it off the lot tomorrow... do you have the title?".

Fingers crossed... prayers to whatever will hear them... big sigh. Transitowne is already prepared for me to cancel the other purchase. I know it will be a huge pain in the ass to change the loan and insurance but at this point I feel like my hands are tied.

I just want a new car. Is that really too much to ask?


Oh... yes, you better believe that I will be complaining to the Better Business Bureau about this just to have it on record. But AFTER things are settled.
baronessekat: (cuss)
today I texted my sales guy about the car. Basically asking where things were and laying it on the line that I expected to pick the car up tomorrow or I was canceling my purchase and requiring my deposit returned.

So, less than two minutes after I send the text, the sales manager calls me. not the sales guy, but the manager. Apologizing saying they are at the mercy of the place they bought it from, he's got his guys all over it.

I'm like, you sold me a car you don't have proof of ownership yet. You cashed me deposit check and I still do not have a car. I checked, Car Fax says you've had this vehicle for TWO MONTHS. Why did you offer it for sale if you could not let it drive off the lot after TWO MONTHS?!? And I'm pissed off because I wasn't told you didn't have title until AFTER I signed the purchasing agreement.

so TL:DR... they are refunding me my deposit regardless if I take the car or not. I said they have until Saturday. I cannot go any longer without a reliable car.

He then gave me the "we have thousands of satisfied customers blah blah blah". To which I responded "Yes, but I am a woman who has access to social media and I'm already complaining".

He did agree at least that they are the ones who fucked up and he even said that he would pull the listing (should I not buy it) until they have title as he doesn't want another upset customer yelling at him.

what got my boss was my reply "Marc, I have not even begun to yell. I'm beyond yelling and have reached righteous calm"

So we shall see. My boss, who happened to witness the entire phone call said "you're scary when you get mad. It wasn't even directed at me and I was convinced you were going to crawl over your desk and throttle me. If that guy could have seen your body language I'm pretty sure he'd have wet himself"

I'm just so done. But I will say that I will never buy another car (if I even get this one) From Transitowne Dodge in Williamsville, NY.
Hehehehe
baronessekat: (cuss)
What I just posted to Yelp about the dealership I am buying my new car through

"I came in on a Thursday, having specifically asked to see van that was on the website. I was told it was available and schedule the test drive that day. Got there to be told the car I wanted to try had been sold. But I met with a salesman and we talked and arranged for a different newer version.

I test drove it and signed the purchasing agreement. THEN I was told they didn't have the title from the state yet but should have it by Monday. I was a bit taken aback but agreed.

Called Tuesday because I didn't hear anything and was told that they had just called the auction company and that the title just went into the mail that day. Did I really just get sold a car they have no proof of ownership on?

It's now the Wednesday after I signed the purchasing agreement and put a down payment on and I just got told they still have not gotten confirmation that the title in on it's way to them. I now have to make a ton of a calls to change loan and insurance paperwork and seriously feel like I'm being strung along when I very much NEED this new car. Starting to have serious buyer's regret"
baronessekat: (pollyanna)
* signed the loan paperwork for the car loan. Now I just have to wait for the dealership

* more progress on audiobook

* cut out 3 bycockets (2 for me, 1 as a gift), laid out a dress but didn't get to cutting it out yet.

* outside time in the sun with Grimmy, just being and enjoying the weather.

* refilled feeders so the cats have continuing "kitty tv".
baronessekat: (pollyanna)
* water goal achieved.

* credit union called and preapproved me for a car loan.

* finished book # 48

* started new audiobook

* I BOUGHT A CAR! with luck, all the paperwork clears and I can pick it up mid-next week.
baronessekat: (cuss)
I FREAKING BOUGHT A CAR!!!!

so, the credit union called me this morning and gave me how much I could get approved for and how much it would be for a 5 year loan (the max I could get given that I was looking at a 2014 and their policy is 10 years - age of car = max length of loan up to 6 years).

So on my lunch today I started surfing the local dealership websites. I put in a request to test drive a 2014 van that is the make and model of my current one (just 7 years newer). I make the appointment for after work.

However, I get there to discover the van was sold about 30 minutes before I got there. I was bummed but accepted that that's the breaks. But... the good thing is that it's 2 days to month's end and they have quotas and stuff. So I talked to one of the guys. Said what my max was (with the taxes/fees/registration costs). He looked at their inventory and found a 2016. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles the other one, or mine, has. No push button open sliding side doors, no power seats, no display to tell you the temp/miles to empty, etc. I pointed out that the sticker price was at my max budget. He sent me on a test drive with "let me talk to the boss". So I drove it. It handles well - no deciding that 1st gear is optional and good breaks, etc.

I got back and he said that with my current car as trade-in (which I was surprised they would take given it's condition) and a little bit down from me (which was less than I was figuring I would have to fork over as down payment) they got it down to 83 cents above what I said was my max. They basically took almost 2 grand off before the trade in and down payment.

So I signed the purchasing agreement. tomorrow I contact the credit union and send them the info they need, I'm hoping that being a little below what they pre-approved me for and now the ability to go for a 6 year loan my monthly payment will be less than what I was originally quoted, and wait for the dealership to call me. They are waiting on the title to them to arrive from NYS in order to transfer it to me. So the hope is Tuesday or Wednesday of next week I will be able to pick up the new van.

He's white with black interior. Definitely a he personality. Baron P suggested TK-421 as a name as he does have a very stormtrooper feel to him. but I pointed out that TK-421 wasn't at his post when needed. But then I noticed that the sales dude was wearing blue suede shoes and I had the name. My new van will be Elvis. (I admit that I ordered a blinged out Elvis blue shoes ornament to hang from the mirror because reasons https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01AY9OFKC/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 )

So yeah... I bought a car. Now I have to not have the money panics.
baronessekat: (feargrin)
All preliminary paperwork is at the Credit Union for review and approval for my car loan.

Johnny (the family car guy) called me and said he just took in a 2003 GMC Envoy, dark green with chrome wheels, 5 passenger, roof rack, hitch, and with only 37,000 miles on it. I questioned the milage but apparently it had been owned by a snowbird who only drove it half the year and even that was limited (guy is 87 and no longer wants anything that big to drive).

The credit union was iffy on that car as apparently they do not like the cars age + the length of the loan in years to be more than 10. And the car is 9. But she said she would make sure the reviewer/approver knows how low a milage is on it (it only averaged a little over 4,000 miles a year).

There is a 2007 Dodge Grand Caravan with 63,000 miles on it that is also a possibility. It too has a roof rack. It is practically the same van that I just lost only newer and half the miles (also half the age).

Again, all depends on the Credit Union and if they are going to finance me and how much. Either vehicle would fall under "SCA friendly". So I'm trying to remain hopeful but not get too hopeful.

Profile

baronessekat: (Default)
baronessekat

December 2025

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930 31   

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 09:14 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios